Officially Licensed By:


NFL Collectibles

National Football League

Founded in 1920 at Canton, Ohio, as the 11-team American Professional Football Association and renamed the National Football League (NFL) two years later, the league has helped make football the most popular televised sport in the United States since 1965. The NFL and many of its teams struggled financially during the early years, but the league came into national prominence in the late 1950s and hasn’t looked back since. Currently, there are 32 teams in the NFL – 16 each in the National Football Conference and American Football Conference. Each conference contains four divisions (North, South, East and West) of four teams each. A 17-week schedule is followed by a 12-team playoff system culminating in the NFC and AFC champions squaring off in the Super Bowl, played at a pre-selected site. Each team plays 16 regular-season games, including two each against the other three teams in its division, and has one bye week. The four division winners and two wild card teams from each conference (12 teams total) advance to the postseason. The Green Bay Packers have won more NFL championships (13) than any other franchise. The New York Giants captured the most recent title (Super Bowl XLVI). While the preseason, regular season and postseason last six months (early August through early February), the NFL stays in the spotlight year-round, thanks to events such as the annual college draft, free agent signings, trades, the scouting combine, the Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony, and the announcements of schedules and future Super Bowl sites. Much expansion has occurred through the decades, and the only current franchises that trace their roots to the 1920s and earlier are the Arizona Cardinals (founded in 1898), Packers (1919), Chicago Bears (1920) and Giants (1925). Team awards include the Lamar Hunt Trophy for the AFC champion (named after the founder of the Dallas Texans, who became the Kansas City Chiefs) and the George Halas Trophy for the NFC champion (named for the founder of the Bears). The Highland Mint produces a wide variety of products licensed by the NFL for all 32 teams. Among them are PhotoMints, Coins, Coin Cards, Etched Acrylics, Ornaments and Keychains.